Our Governance Structure

The Consortium is a not-for-profit organization governed by its membership. Each member state identifies one individual to represent it in Consortium activities. (Most often, the representative is the state program leader for CTE business/marketing programs.)

Board of Trustees

This member group provides overall guidance in the operation of the organization and elects from its membership six individuals to serve on the Board of Trustees. (Elected Trustees must meet specific criteria as described in the Code of Regulations.)

The Board of Trustees is the official governing body of the organization. The Board consists of nine members, six of whom are elected from and by the Consortium’s member group. Three additional “external” Trustees are appointed by the sitting Board and ratified by the Consortium member group. These external members are full, voting members of the Board. They are selected on the basis of their experience with Career and Technical Education and/or the business community. Typically, two of these appointed Trustees are senior state education department administrators (State CTE Directors, Associate Superintendents, etc.) and the third is a senior representative of the postsecondary community (VP, Executive Dean, etc.).

Executive officers of the Board of Trustees include: Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary-Treasurer, all elected from the sitting Trustees.

The organization’s CEO serves as an ex officio, non-voting member of the Board.


MBA Research Leadership

President/CEO: Holly Atha
Executive Vice President: Rick Mangini

Trustees are elected at the Annual Meeting of the Consortium held in conjunction with Conclave each October for three-year terms commencing November 1. Sitting Trustees are eligible for re-election. Current members:


Katie Graham, Ph.D., Administrator, State Director, Office of Career, Technical, & Adult Education, Nebraska

Holli Ryan-Kalaleh (WA), Program Supervisor, Business and Marketing

Cindy Shannon (MO), Director, Business/Marketing/Information Technology


Brian Pyles, Ph.D., Board Chair FY24. State Director, Office of Career and Technical Education, Michigan Department of Education

Kevin Reisenauer (ND), Supervisor, Marketing Education

Mary Janssen (NE), Career Field Specialist, Business/Marketing/Management


Molly Anderson (CA), Secretary/Treasurer FY24. State DECA and FBLA Advisor, Education Programs Consultant

Michael Connet, Associate Deputy Executive Director – Outreach & Partnerships, ACTE

Shauna Williams (ID), Vice Chair FY24. Program Manager, Business/Marketing

Learn More About Us

For additional information about our organization, visit our About Us page.